Gift Box Obsession, Intervention Please?!

I’ve been creating since my last post, I swear! But here’s the thing.. The ONE thing.. Gift boxes. Tons and tons of them, from teeny tiny boxes for those teeny tiny treasures up to about 4×4 inches or so.

20110810-024148.jpg

It’s like having a creative block except I’m stuck in this loop like a skipping record that only plays gift box. Hah! All types, all colors, cupcakes, ribbons, patterns and solids. Folded, octagonal, slide top, lipstick case ones.. The list goes on and on!

The original idea was to make a couple of them for the leather fringe earrings I had made as birthday gifts for a couple of girlfriends of mine. I had a great success and the boxes really added that additional touch of homemade creativity to the whole experience. I want my creations to be completely mine, from the gift to all the wrapping.. Those little touches that take it all the way. The Full Monte of homemade gift giving!

BUT now I must have an intervention! I have all these boxes, hand created, each of them different and unique. Hundreds, no kidding. Six weeks of daily obsession! Art really can teach you a lot about yourself. So I have to move on, either stuff those things with my other creations (like jewelry or gift tags or magnets or anything!) or sell them.

20110810-024441.jpg

So what do you think.. Would you buy these for your creations or to use as gift boxes to touch up the little things you give on special occasions? Wedding favors or birthday parties (Well, maybe not these exact ones. I sure do love being snarky!)? Send me your feedback and let me know if you’re as obsessed with boxes as I am!

P.S. Sorry about the cussing. ;)

Author: Jessanne S.

I am a fiber artist and stay at home mom. But that terribly underplays who I really am! I grew up as a rebellious girl and i have matured into a rebellious woman! No rules! Who needs them? I was told once (or maybe twice) when I was young that I was an "up start", or an imp. Well, I agree. So here we are with the namesake of my new blog where I will feature my work, learn, take new paths, and all that stuff! There are so many gorgeous blogs, artists and publications out there that I barely get a chance to create with all that eye candy!

Leave a Reply

