An Accidental Collaboration

20120318-154021.jpg

Today I was rooting around in my studio, puttering while trying to figure out what I wanted to work on. I came across something that I rescued from the garbage during my mom’s big move last October. (And it’s been that long since I blogged! Holy cow I’ve been busy!) She had this piece of muslin covered in paint and crayon rubbings… but it hadn’t turned out the way she wanted and it was worth culling out of the collection. All those things that accumulate in our art studios! You know how that is!

But to me it looked like a little treasure so I snagged it up and let it sit in my studio until it found a purpose. I saw the ocean in it, all the swirling colors reminded me of a coral reef. So I added a drawing on the bottom in Prisma Color pencils to give it the final touch. I am pondering whether I should mat and frame it or find some other way to mount it.. what do you think?!

Author: Jessanne S.

I am a fiber artist and stay at home mom. But that terribly underplays who I really am! I grew up as a rebellious girl and i have matured into a rebellious woman! No rules! Who needs them? I was told once (or maybe twice) when I was young that I was an "up start", or an imp. Well, I agree. So here we are with the namesake of my new blog where I will feature my work, learn, take new paths, and all that stuff! There are so many gorgeous blogs, artists and publications out there that I barely get a chance to create with all that eye candy!

Leave a Reply

