New Passion: Paper Making

20120714-175119.jpg
Rainbows aren’t just for the sky! :)

I’ve spent the last few weeks trying my hand at making homemade paper out of the recycle bin or the icky bills in my mail bin. I am really amused that I’m using old utility bills. Upcycling that junk mail! My recipes are hilarious as a result!

Color – Yellow(ish)

1/2 a Time Warner disconnect notice (I don’t even watch that box out there!)
2 NYSEG envelopes (..grumble, grumble..)
1/4 Toilet Paper tube

 

20120714-180554.jpg

I’ve made a few interesting first attempts… During these first tries (just above) I’ve learned how to do it my own way (no rules!) and what just doesn’t work. I do not recommend junk flyers, for example, they just don’t bind well. With a little bit of window screen, and some recycled picture frames I was able to create my own deckle that fits into my kitchen sink. And so far the results have been wonderful. I’m learning about paper quality, before and after I shred it to bits, paper strength, and fiber placement all at the same time.

 

20120714-175622.jpg

I call these eggplant and mango!

20120714-180905.jpg
Hey, cowgirl, these boots totally
match that art journal you’re working on! ;)

20120714-180438.jpg
A patchy grey color & a peachy-orange after drying.

20120714-175534.jpg
After deckle & ready for pressing! This is definitely

the color of Pepto Bismol… Hehe!

Try it yourself and tell me how it went! If you have questions post them in the comment section and I would be happy to help.

Cheers!

Jessanne

Author: Jessanne S.

I am a fiber artist and stay at home mom. But that terribly underplays who I really am! I grew up as a rebellious girl and i have matured into a rebellious woman! No rules! Who needs them? I was told once (or maybe twice) when I was young that I was an "up start", or an imp. Well, I agree. So here we are with the namesake of my new blog where I will feature my work, learn, take new paths, and all that stuff! There are so many gorgeous blogs, artists and publications out there that I barely get a chance to create with all that eye candy!

2 thoughts on “New Passion: Paper Making”

Leave a Reply

